Tough Five – NCAA Season 88

Posted: June 24, 2012 in Basketball, Tough Five
Tags: , , ,

NCAA Season 88 tipped off yesterday and boy was it early. I can’t remember what date they opened Season 87 last year but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t the month of June. I could be wrong. Anyway, last year, I followed the games to the last minute. It was alright. I must say it lived up to my expectation. This year I’m expecting more (no pressure). With that, let me also tip off my prediction for this year. Well, at least for the teams who’ll do well this season. Here are my top five teams (in this order) for Season 88 (warning: the author is bias):

5.) Mapua Cardinals – they’ve been always a bunch of hard-workers and it wouldn’t be a long shot for them to reach the Final Four. They’ll be there, fighting each game. Although they’ll for surely miss the services of their top-gunner (who’s now a goner) and the rest of players who already graduated or are done with their 5 year eligibility. They’ll be fine but I’m not expecting much from this year’s version of the Cards.

4.) San Beda Red Lions – the Red Lions are going to be an interesting team this year. New coach, new system, a few new players. I know Ronnie Magsanoc can pull it off for a few games but I don’t think that they are a better team this year compared to their biggest rival, the Stags. Missing the Final Four would be a disaster. Making the Finals is over achieving.

3.) Letran Knights – they are using the Jaworski formula (father and son tandem) and then some. They’re not playing together or not players for the same team like the Jaworskis, and they’re doing really well. I was rooting for them last year (together with the Stags) because they were really good. And I think this year they are better. I wouldn’t be surprised if they win it all this year.

2.) San Sebastian Stags – The Trio is back and that’s all it will take for them to win it all this time around. A full season sweep would not be a surprise. But they should not become complacent. That was their biggest flaw last year so I’m hoping they have learned they lessons.

1.) College of Saint Benilde Blazers – I believe. Let’s do it, Blazers! Animo, Benilde!

 

Leave a Reply

